I’m Not Sure If I Want To Come Out of Retirement

Why? Because I don’t want to have to wear pants

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by hasan amar on Unsplash

After spending thirty-two years as a teacher/librarian, I retired. I probably should have stuck it out one more year for financial reasons, but I felt at the time that if you stuck a fork in me, I would be done.

I never wanted to be one of those crabby educators that everyone wished would leave.

On the contrary, I wanted to go before someone felt that way about me.

I was excited about retirement and sure that I would find a part-time job. I eventually found work, but it was not so easy, and the pay was not so good. I was shocked at how little part-time work paid. Because of my retirement guidelines, I can’t work full-time, and this made my options limited.

After working an evening job at a college library that I loved, I felt the need to leave for family reasons. My teenage son was spending too much time alone at home. So my priority was being his mother.

He is now a high-school senior working and going to the local tech school in a dual enrollment program. I’m lucky if I see him a few minutes a day.

It’s time to decide my future.

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor