I’m on Cholesterol Medication Now

Just adding to the piles of pills I take every day

Robin James
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Myriam Zilles on Unsplash

After the alarmingly high blood pressure readings I was getting when my sisters and I would stop to use the machines in drug stores, I found a female doctor accepting new patients and booked a physical.

I hadn’t had a complete physical in over a decade.

The last one was about a year before my partial hysterectomy. With the removal of my uterus, I figured I didn’t need to get the annual pap smears anymore. I’d had them done once a year for decades while I was on birth control pills and hated the entire process. Everything about it was violating and stressful, so I figured that without a uterus I didn’t need the tests done. Unfortunately, that also meant I didn’t get annual checkups or blood work done.

Part of the problem was that I didn’t have a family doctor. I’d go to clinics for whatever minor complaint flared up and it was getting harder and harder to find someone to do a full physical, so I just let it go.

But this past summer, my blood pressure numbers scared me and I figured if I was going to be on medication for the rest of my life, I’d better find a family doctor who can learn about me and my medical history.

--

--

Robin James
Crow’s Feet

When I’m not writing my novel I’m writing rants and whatnot. Figured I might as well post them here.