KVETCHING

I’m On the Train!

The Wonderful World of Phone Blather

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readOct 2, 2021

--

Photo by Tai's Captures on Unsplash

The other day I was on the commuter train and everyone was on the phone but me. The train car was a cacophony of blather. All my fellow passengers were talking at once, each one-sided conversation more insipid than the last:

“I’m on the train!”

“The second apartment we saw was even smaller, but I loved the kitchen.”

“I’m on the train!”

“You found the document? Great! Now make five copies and give them to Mike.”

“I just got on the train!”

“The podiatrist was out of the office, but when the nurse saw my bunion, she…”

“I’m on the train!”

Okay. So you’re on the train. Now, can you possibly shut up about it for two seconds?

There wasn’t a quiet car or I would have been on it. All the cars were noisy cars and the blather was inescapable. All I wanted was to relax and watch the world go by, in peace and quiet.

Good luck with that.

“The cat threw up — again? Did it have that weird green stuff in it?”

There was a sign at the front of the car asking people to be considerate of others by keeping their conversations low…

--

--

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
Crow’s Feet

Writing Coach Roz Warren (roSwarren@gmail.com) helps Medium writers craft better, more boost-able stories. Roz used to write for the New York Times.