I’m Retired and I Don’t Want to Travel

Orrin Onken
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readMay 13, 2021

--

Photo by Jake Blucker on Unsplash

There, I’ve said it. I don’t want to travel.

I don’t want to buy an RV and see the country. I don’t want to visit the Galapagos. I don’t want to cruise the rivers of Europe.

I recently retired from practicing law. I liked working. I ran my own office, got to do things my way, and earned a lot of money. But it was always work, and I never mistook it for anything else. It was not my calling or what I loved to do. When I had enough money that I could live comfortably for the rest of my life without working, it became harder and harder to go to the office every morning.

The day came when the money I made from working was no longer worth the hassle of earning it. So I quit.

My lawyer colleagues, who hadn’t quit practicing and had no intention of quitting, asked me what I was going to do and I didn’t have a good answer. They would follow up about how they couldn’t imagine themselves retiring, but if they did, they would use the time to travel.

Now that I am retired, I feel a lot of pressure to travel. But I don’t want to.

I traveled before retirement. Sometimes, I traveled for work. That wasn’t a lot of fun. Other times I traveled because I was on vacation and traveling is what a working person is supposed to do when on vacation. I traveled so when the…

--

--

Orrin Onken
Crow’s Feet

I am a retired elder law attorney who lives near Portland, Oregon. I write legal mysteries for Salish Ponds Press and articles about being old.