Crow’s Feet Writing Prompt #56

I’m Super Sensitive to Noise

Which makes downsizing just a bit more uncomfortable

Robin James
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readMay 1, 2024

--

Photo by Elyas Pasban on Unsplash

One of the biggest hurdles about downsizing is making sure both my husband and I have our own spaces.

The place I’m living in right now is only one floor plus a finished basement. My husband has his work office at one end of the house in the basement and my writing room is clear across the house in a bedroom on the main floor.

This works really well for us. He can work without disturbing me and I have a room where I can close the door to any distractions.

But places in our price range don’t necessarily have space for both of us in the same way.

Many places have a finished or partially finished basement, which will be good for his office, but some don’t. Those that don’t usually have secondary bedrooms right beside each other and share a wall.

I love my husband, but I don’t really want to hear him working all day. As my mom would have said, “I married him for life, not for lunch.”

In addition, he’s the kind of person who likes background noise. He’ll keep YouTube open and running to fill the room.

--

--

Robin James
Crow’s Feet

When I’m not writing my novel I’m writing rants and whatnot. Figured I might as well post them here.