I’m Sending My Voter’s Registration Card Back

I’m done with politics

Carole Olsen
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

In the past few weeks, I have decided I can’t take American politics anymore. The Surgeon General should warn that watching cable news “Could be bad for your physical and mental well-being.”

I forbid my husband from watching cable news unless his hearing aids are attached to the television volume (mute to me). If I hear the B-word (Biden) or T-word (Trump) one more time, I am going to jump out the basement window.

There is more drama in this election than I can stand.

I watch Biden, and I hope he doesn’t start off on a tangent and forget where he is midstream. He sounds like he has solved the problems of the world single-handedly without the help of advisors or even Jill.

I watch Trump and hope he can pronounce words correctly and sound intelligent. I wish he wouldn’t wear those darn red hats that were manufactured in China, too.

It is too much for me to handle. It was fine when there was some normalcy in elections, but this one is far from normal. I am almost 76 years old and need to stay as calm as possible so as not to upset this aging body.

Watching either of these candidates can lead me to wake up at three AM with a belly ache that needs a swig of Pepto to subside…

--

--

Carole Olsen
Crow’s Feet

Author, Freelance Writer, Loves Animals and Selective Humans.