Inspired By An Omelet: The Attraction of Denny’s For Seniors

An iconic diner that is surviving

Lee J. Bentch
Crow’s Feet
Published in
2 min readMay 30, 2022

--

Photo by Author — LJBentch

I eat breakfast at Denny’s occasionally. My recent meal inspired me to understand why I keep going back.

If you haven’t heard of or been to a Denny’s, you are missing an American retro dining experience. They’ve been around for over 60 years and survived the chaos of the pandemic.

They are known for their Grand Slam Breakfast and value meals and are among the few diners offering a reduced-price Senior menu with a good selection.

The last time I ate there, I had a Senior omelet; it’s the picture above. Half the plate is filled with delicious eggs, cheese, onions, tomatoes, and bacon. The other half is filled with Denny’s famous hash browns. Two slices of toast and a cup of coffee were more than a morning treat.

With my AARP discount and tip, my total bill came to only $11.59. A very affordable meal.

Denny’s survived the Covid quarantine, but it was tough on them. At the location I frequent, their staff is reduced, the service is a little sleepy, and they are no longer crowded like before the pandemic. But they are slowly regaining financial strength.

Remarkably, their prices haven’t increased much. Denny’s is more affordable now than a…

--

--

Lee J. Bentch
Crow’s Feet

I am an author, a technology guy, a grandad, a widower, and a man with many interests. I write to inform and entertain. Email: lee@lbentch.com