Just Remember, I Also Did This When I Was Young

Thoughts on getting older, losing some of my memories, and strategies I use to help

Crystalclearcandace
Crow’s Feet

--

this is a photo of a photo album with old pictures in it. A person is holding it open and their two hands are visible but the person is otherwise not in the picture.
Photo by Laura Fuhrman on Unsplash

On my next birthday, I will be 70 years old. There has been a lot of discussion in the news recently about our President’s memory and whether it is something to worry about, and this debate has gotten me thinking about my own memory.

As I’ve been questioning whether my occasional memory lapses are normal aging or something more alarming, I am reminded of something I used to say when I was in my 40s.

I’ve always gotten lost easily

GPS changed my life because before being able to chart a course on my cellphone, I used to get lost for hours at a time, sometimes ending up in tears as I tried to find my way home. This didn’t just happen once or twice — it was a regularly occurring problem any time I drove to somewhere new or even somewhere I hadn’t been to recently. Although I always kept a map in the car, it was difficult to get back on track once I had lost my bearings.

Back then, I used to tell people when I am old, and I come back home late and tell you I’d been driving around, lost for hours; just remember, I also did this when I was young.

--

--

Crystalclearcandace
Crow’s Feet

Writer, poet, gardener, life-long learner, warrior for children, lover of faerie, freedom, and joy. From a long line of badass women. She/her/hers