‘Kind’ Is The New ‘Cool’ — Life Over 60

Crow’s Feet Prompt #12: Best Aspects of Aging

Anne Emerick
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Greta Hoffman from Pexels

I’m not going to pretend that getting older is awesome. It’s not.

But there are some good parts to it, and challenged by a writing prompt to say what I like best, here it is:

Nice guys (and gals) stop finishing last.

Kindness is the new cool.

The importance of kindness to people in the last third of their lives became clear to me when a friend was describing her fiancé. She and he are well above 60.

“He’s just such a kind person. He treats me so well,” she said. “I don’t think I’ve ever had that before, and now I do. Now, when it matters most.”

My sister had made similar comments when she got engaged at the age of 60. She said she knew she had met the right guy after two dates because “He was just so nice to me. He’s not a perfect guy, but he’s perfect for me.”

I don’t remember anyone in their 20’s or 30’s gushing about the “niceness” of their romantic partners. When I was 20, 30, and 40, here is what my friends might say about guys they hoped were “Mr. Right.”

“We have a great time together.”

“We’re very much in love.”

“We just clicked right away.”

--

--

Anne Emerick
Crow’s Feet

Programmer by day. Author by night. As I put on running tights, I imagine I’m a superhero. Creator of Unemploymentville.com and No-Work Spanish.