Kindness Journey

Lessons over a lifetime

Laura DeMaisBerg
Crow’s Feet

--

Woman sitting on a hill looking over a long winding road.
Photo by Vlad Bagacian on Unsplash

My daughter is away at college and has developed an inspiring walking habit. Most days she walks 8–10 miles getting to and from the main campus and just wandering around town.

My daughter often calls me during these walks. It’s one of the rare times when she wants to talk to me for extended periods. I hate when I have to get off for a work meeting or an appointment. I feel like I’m leaving a really fun party just as the good part is starting.

Thankfully my daughter walks a lot. She’s taken to texting me an advance warning, “Walking home soon if you want to talk.” When I can, I turn my ringer on, and text back, “Always!” If I can, I put my earbuds in and take a walk of my own.

What I love about these talks is that they’re not about anything in particular. The lack of structure in these meandering conversations has deepened our relationship in an unexpected and deeply satisfying way. We talk about existential things like why we are the way we are or why other people are the way they are.

Though my daughter is only 19, during these conversations, somehow we become two adults talking together. She gives me advice as much as I help her navigate struggles. It’s a strange feeling, this turning of tables on our lifelong mother-daughter dynamic.

--

--

Laura DeMaisBerg
Crow’s Feet

I write about seemingly mundane experiences that are relatable because we are human. Subscribe on Substack to get my stories directly: lauramc.sub-stack.com