Learning How to Play Again

I have been a serious, responsible grown-up for long enough.

Beth Bruno
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Jacky Zhao on Unsplash

“Life is playfulness…We need to play so that we can rediscover the magic all around us.” ~ Flora Colao

When was the last time I did something that could be considered play? I am talking about playing for the sake of play. Playing for the sheer joy of it. Playing for no other reason than the delight play brings. Hmmm. I can’t even remember the last time I did that.

I will be 60 next March. I have been thinking a lot about how I want to live my seventh decade on the planet. Like most people my age, I have learned a lot about life by doing it wrong at times. But one thing you can say about me for sure is I have always taken life very seriously. Too seriously.

I have spent the bulk of my 60 years on earth learning how to do this human experience thing. I am a seeker, and I have read millions of words about how to be a better person, how to forgive yourself, how to accept the life you have, how to make amends for things you’ve done to hurt others. I have spent a lot of time in a therapist’s office sorting through my stuff and making sense of it all. I have learned to embrace my humanness and I am getting better at embracing the humanness of others. But what I have neglected to do is play. Now I am ready to lighten up. I am…

--

--

Beth Bruno
Crow’s Feet

Human learning to be human. Writing in hopes of getting there.