Writing prompt #52 — learning

Learning New Things?

Living on a boat requires a certain skill set

Catherine Oceano
Crow’s Feet
Published in
5 min readMar 25, 2024

--

A white hulled boat sits in a treed anchorage
Photo credit: author, Catherine Oceano

I did not grow up with boats or around them. The closest I came as a child was in a borrowed tin skiff drifting off the shore of our small town on Lake Ontario. Which to tell the truth is more like an ocean than a lake.

Once or twice our family went fishing with friends while camping. Also in some sort of aluminum runabout. Not what I would now call a real vessel.

Later yet I went canoeing. That is where I fell in love with my husband. In a canoe. Maybe it was an omen. Or some sign of where my future lay. But the water we were on at that time was a weedy pond where you could see all sides and drowning would have been difficult unless we were rendered unconscious. We could have walked to shore from just about anywhere we navigated. We would probably have been more likely to die from inhaling the slime in the water. Either way, we made it safely home for supper.

But I did not know yet how enthusiastic my husband-to-be was about boats and being on the water. Lucky for him I learned to share this appreciation. Over the years we owned a variety of vessels that we used to convey our children on numerous adventures along the tidal waters near where we migrated to on the left coast of Canada

--

--

Catherine Oceano
Crow’s Feet

old but not dead, mother, partner, grandmother, writer, Canadian Become a Medium member and support great writers like me.