Lesser Known Reasons Why You Should Travel More When You’re Young and Not Old

It is far more complicated and goes beyond mobility and cognition issues.

David Mokotoff, MD
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readOct 24, 2023

--

Courtesy of Imagine AI

I was too busy becoming a doctor, making a living, and raising a family. While my college friends were backpacking through Europe, I worked in a rat lab studying cholesterol synthesis (or how fats are made). Since I retired in 2015, I have traveled more, and it’s been memorable. However, I now find it to be more complicated and less fun. The reason is baggage and not the emotional kind.

I can pack fewer clothes now as I am not as consumed by my appearance. But here is an incomplete list of what else I must bring.

  • Nightime wrist splint for my carpal tunnel.
  • Portable CPAP machine for my sleep apnea.
  • Bite block for my nocturnal teeth grinding.
  • Hearing aids with rechargeable holder and extra replacement earpiece parts.
  • Foot and ankle splint in case my plantar fascitis acts up.
  • Extra pills if the trip gets unexpectedly extended due to bad weather and airline inefficiencies.
  • Emergency pills for worsening of my Crohn’s colitis.
  • My life’s extensive dental work has left me…

--

--

David Mokotoff, MD
Crow’s Feet

David Mokotoff is a top and boosted writer. He is a retired MD, passionate about health, medicine, gardening, and food, https://tinyurl.com/y7bjoqkd