Let Us Not Become Deaf

A poem.

ZD Finn
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Jude Arubi on Unsplash

I have lost a lot of my hearing,
but as I travel my home city
I hear a great deal
that others do not.

I hear the squeal of the brakes,
the bustle of the people,
the cacophony of traffic
and nature poking through.

I hear the cries of agreement,
pain and excitement
and the voices of children
unbridled with joy.

I shudder at the extremes,
and soften in the tenderness.
I am subject to and subject of,
all that surrounds me.

I feel its heartbeat.
I hear its anthem
and I feel privileged
to hear what others do not.

They hear the certainty
of their own world,
their curated soundscapes
that match their rhythm.

There’s a safety in certainty,
I understand that,
but the heartbeat of this city
is greater than each one of us.

It is a microcosm of our world,
on which we depend,
and on humanity
of which we are part.

Let us not become deaf
to what matters,
to the voices that are raised
and to those that are silent.

Let us not become deafened,
by the barriers we create,
to what is greater around us
and far greater within us.

© ZD Finn 2023

Finn runs a healing and meditation practice in London, publishes her own inspired journals, and offers mentoring to those seeking to strengthen their own soul connection.
zdfinn.com

--

--

ZD Finn
Crow’s Feet

Author of ‘The Library of Lives,’ a series of inspired journals, healer, inspired speaker, mentor zdfinn.com