Life Lessons from Tea Bag Tags

Who knew a daily cup of herbal tea could be so profound?

Barry Silverstein
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readMay 6, 2024

--

Photo by author

Once a day, or maybe twice, I savor a cup of herbal tea. For quite some time, my herbal tea of choice has been a brand called Yogi Tea. I’ve really enjoyed their blend of quality herbal ingredients and excellent flavors.

Curiously, in addition to delighting my taste buds, Yogi Tea has enriched my life in an unexpected way. Every one of the tiny tea bag tags has a saying on it.

Opening one of the packets from a box of Yogi Tea reveals a new saying each time. While there have been some repeats, they are rare. There seems to be an endless supply of sayings on the those tea bag tags.

Like the Cracker Jack box of old, you never know what prize you’ll get — but in this case, it’s psychical instead of physical.

At first, I thought the sayings were mildly interesting, and I didn’t take them too seriously. I discarded each tea bag without a second thought. But then I found myself having second thoughts. Not every saying resonated with me, but most of them made me ponder their meaning. They were uniformly upbeat, simple yet meaningful. I was hooked.

Now when I have that daily cup of tea, I look forward to what I might think as well as what I will drink. I’ve found that each saying…

--

--

Barry Silverstein
Crow’s Feet

Author, blogger and retired marketing pro. I like to write about brands, products and people of the past. Please visit my website: www.barrysilverstein.com