An Old Dog Learns Some New Tricks

Eddie Biggins
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readJun 11, 2023

--

How do I want the rest of my life to go?

photo of an old dog wearing glasses
Photo by Ben Moreland on Unsplash

I’m 63 years old. When did that happen? Well, of course, I know when it actually happened, but on a more existential level, when the fuck did that happen?

I don’t feel old, most of the time anyway. The middle-of-the-night pee breaks are annoying; otherwise, things are pretty good.

I still enjoy most of the things I’ve always enjoyed, and recently added writing on Medium to that list. I guess you can teach an old dog new tricks.

But I have started thinking about what I want the rest of my time here to look like. How many years do I have left? Twenty? Maybe as much as 30? And of those years, for how many will I be healthy enough to enjoy myself?

Much of that time will be dictated by my wife’s health. Alzheimer’s is unpredictable, making it difficult to make any sort of plan beyond a day or two. Sometimes that’s a good thing, forcing me to appreciate this moment in this moment. But at other times, I wish I could know what’s coming when.

We are making plans for our annual (and sometimes more-than-annual) trip to Walt Disney World in the fall. After thirty-odd trips, it’s a place that’s well familiar to us and a place where she feels comfortable. That’s one thing I see in our future — as many Disney trips as we can manage…

--

--

Eddie Biggins
Crow’s Feet

Singer-songwriter, Celtic folk music aficionado, Disney parks fan, father, husband, Alzheimer’s caregiver. Find my music on Bandcamp and all streaming services.