Messengers from Heaven

Stray dogs

Jacabigail
Crow’s Feet
3 min readFeb 1, 2022

--

painting of two dogs
photo and painting by author

My father died a year after my mother in 2001.

I am a passionate lover of dogs, and, as a child, I was always in trouble for bringing them home.

I remember one of them had ringworm. In the end, I had to shave my head because it was infested with ringworm. That dog suddenly disappeared. According to my parents, it ran away.

The next dog I came home with I had won on a spinning wheel at a school fete, after specifically being told not to buy tickets. I was 9 years old at the time. That dog had to be sent to my uncle's farm because it was a trained sheepdog.

Finally, I bought home a small fox terrier, and Dad fell in love with it. He called it Sammy, and he went on to have three more fox terrier dogs during his lifetime, each called Sammy.

On his death bed, Dad asked me would I look after Sammy. My sisters were not that fond of dogs. Of course, I agreed. At that moment Sammy jumped up on the bed, licked Dad’s face, and within minutes Dad passed away.

A month after Dad’s death, my husband and I were watching TV at 9 o'clock at night when the outside security light came on.

“Someone’s at the door,” I said, as I saw a shadow through the glass panel.

I got up to look, and there, panting away, was a whitish-grey husky. I opened the screen door, and it came and sat on the lounge floor as though this was its home.

It sat for about an hour, drank some water, then it walked to the door to be let out. It had no tags, so I was hesitant to let it leave, but I opened the door and it left.

Within moments of it leaving the security light came on again. “I think the dogs back”, I said.

I opened the door, and there stood a different dog, a Great Dane. I kid you not!

As before, in it came, sat on the floor, had a drink of water, and within a few minutes, it walked toward the door. At this point, I noticed a tag with a phone number, so I called the number to find the owners lived three streets away.

I sat there dumbfounded!

Was Dad trying to reassure me he is watching over me?

Three different kinds of birds after my mother's death and now two different breeds of dogs, both choosing to call late at night after Dad's death. Were my parents trying to reassure me they are watching over me?

I still wonder about the significance of both these incidences happening a month after my parents died.

Do you believe these were just coincidences? Perhaps I am a daughter just looking for closure?

Have you had similar experiences? I’d love to hear about them.

As for Dad’s Sammy, he died after living with me for the next seven years. I had him cremated and took his ashes to be scattered on Dad's grave. Finally, they are together.

You might enjoy my previous article as well:

--

--

Jacabigail
Crow’s Feet

I have grown up in the Australian bush & lived in Hong Kong . I am a mother, grandmother and great grandmother with a lot of tales to tell. I am new to writing.