Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readMar 27, 2022

--

Crow’s Feet prompt #3 Is this really my body?

My Aging Body Is Stressing Me Out!

Bladder leaks, creaky joints, forgetfulness! Who needs it?

me with blue hair pic by andy

Remember that line from the 1977 movie Goodbye Girl? Paula McFadden attends an exercise class, and the dance teacher says, “Girl, what have you done to your body?” Paula replies, “It died; show some respect.”

When I saw that movie, I was 18 years old. I’ve never forgotten that line, and I never dreamed that it would haunt me when I entered my senior years.

Back in those days, I was 5’10” and 130 pounds. I could run, jump and dance the night away. I will never gain weight, I told myself. I will never get old.

Ah, the ignorance of youth!

Of course, I did gain weight. A history of obesity in my family coupled with poor eating habits guaranteed that. And I did get old. There is only one alternative to that, and we all know what that is. I did keep up an exercise regime. But COVID put an end to that. I tried to keep it going on my own, but eventually, I stopped.

My biggest pet peeve is people who have this habit of talking about their ailments. One memorable lunch comes to mind where my sisters, sister-in-law and cousin took turns reciting their latest health issues.

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor