My Mom Could Have Lived, But Chose Not To

I’m trying hard to understand

George “Ace” Acevedo
Crow’s Feet

--

My mother’s rose bush. Photo by Author

My mother caught Covid and died from it two years ago.

The important part was she didn’t have to.

Two weeks after she became ill, our family believed it was time to take her to the hospital. While she was there, two significant things happened.

The first was that she fought the nurses and doctors constantly.

They would have to hold her down to give her medications while she screamed, “Why are you doing this to an old lady!?”

Back then you weren’t allowed to visit, but her doctor called and asked if someone could come talk to her. In addition to the ruckus, she was now refusing to eat and was asking to be sent home.

My siblings chose me to go to the hospital since everyone agreed I was likely the only one she would listen to.

While I was getting fully gowned up, her doctor updated me on her condition, and this was the second significant part.

Despite the difficulties of treating her, she was getting better. Her vitals had vastly improved, and the doctor believed in a week she would be good as new, as long as she remained in the hospital.

She was quiet but…

--

--

George “Ace” Acevedo
Crow’s Feet

Writer. Noisemaker. Visual Artist. Former radio guy who knows a little about a lot.