My New Year’s Resolution: Just Say Yes

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet
Published in
2 min readDec 24, 2021

--

It’s time to try new things!

Maybe I’ll say yes to everything! Photo by Mary McGrath

I have noticed in recent years that I’ve gotten a little bit more grumpy with age. I’m more set in my ways and I avoid things that I have tried before that didn’t work. Maybe next year, I should just say yes when I am asked to explore new things. Some of these might include:

Going clubbing at 10 p.m.

Entering that Hawaiian surfing contest

Jumping out of a plane

Enjoying the nuances of eating live octopus

Going on that roller coaster at Disneyland

Camping

Jumping rope

Biting into an apple

Doing a 5,000 piece puzzle

I’ll try anything! Photo by Mary McGrath

Eating raw insects

Ice-skating

Going a week without using Post-Its

Any crossword puzzle

Learning Latin

Hanging the holiday lights

Not using the GPS and seeing if we can remember how to get there

--

--

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

Top writer in humor, short stories, writing, advice and poetry. She’s written for Newsweek, Wall St. Journal, Good Housekeeping, and Chicken Soup for the Soul.