My Retirement Didn’t Go As Smoothly As I Thought It Would

I learned a lot of lessons that first year.

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Esther Ann on Unsplash

Since tomorrow is the first day of school here in my town, it has me reflecting on my thirty-two-year career in education. It was a good run while it lasted, but you know the old saying, “all good things must come to an end.”

I was excited to retire, but once the euphoria of not going to work wore off, I got pretty bored. I read a lot of books, but even that got old quickly.

I began that long put-off task of cleaning out my house and devoted an hour a day to it. So after sleeping for a minimum of eight hours each night, I was left with about fifteen hours a day with nothing to do.

Have you checked out daytime tv lately? Ay ya ya ya ya!

I finally admitted to myself that I was bored.

So I started looking for a job.

My problem with the job hunt was that I wasn’t really qualified for most part-time jobs. I had two college degrees and sixteen teaching certifications, but I had only worked in education.

I wasn’t allowed to work full-time in education for my state because that would violate my retirement rules, but there were very few part-time education jobs.

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor