No Suit, No Tie, No Worries in Retirement

Brian Feutz
Crow’s Feet
Published in
5 min readJun 21, 2022

--

Retirement is awesome. And delightfully casual. Even so, you’d better not wear white socks with sandals, even retirees have standards.

Licensed Shutterstock image

There I was, the best man, standing proud beside my friend at his wedding. I looked to the audience and then to myself and the groom, grinning at our casual attire.

Brightly patterned Hawaiian shirts with blue jeans were the rule of the day.

We’re all retired and there’s no reason to dress up. Even at a wedding. In fact, the original idea for his wedding was to wear togas, but that was vetoed by the bride. “We have standards,” she declared.

A casual retirement

I’ve been retired for almost a year now and I haven’t worn a tie even once. The few I have hang like dead snakes in my closet, collecting dust. My dress jackets are in solitary downstairs, marking time with their corresponding slacks, waiting to be sentenced to donation.

I just don’t dress up anymore, now that I’m not working — or working to impress anyone.

Retirement comes with special benefits, casual dress being one of them. My new uniform consists of t-shirts or wrinkle-free button-ups, jeans, and slip-on tennis shoes (slip-on because it’s easier than bending over to tie them).

--

--

Brian Feutz
Crow’s Feet

6x Top Writer on Medium, Columnist at DiscoverWalks, Podcast Speaker. Topics: Retirement, Humor, Travel, Tech, Adventure, Fiction. Visit my blog: BrianFeutz.com