Older Writers Hit the Big Time!

Not only did some really big names first publish in their 40s and 50s, but their best work came in their senior years.

Mary DeVries
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

The internet can feel like a young person’s playground at times. Is there really room for me in the sandbox?

You’ll be reading an earnest motivational story where the writer keeps dropping pearls like, “over the years I have learned” and “the longer I live” and “time has taught me” and when you get to the end you find out they are all of 23 years old. Oh, sweet honey child, your life has barely begun.

Youth has a lot to teach those of us in the second half of life. I love reading motivational stuff from writers of all ages. But sometimes it’s nice to read something targeted at us older folk.

So it was with optimism that I clicked on The Ages of 5 Great Writers When They First Published. It was the subtitle, “For when you need to remember that it’s never too late to start” that really caught my eye. This will be the perfect motivation for me to read before I start my day of writing, I thought.

Ed Fernyhough profiles five authors in particular and lists their ages at first publication. Those ages, are you ready for it, are 24, 26, 30, 32, and 33.

--

--

Mary DeVries
Crow’s Feet

The older I get, the less I know. That won’t stop me from writing about everything and anything under the sun. Join me in delighting and despairing about life.