On Becoming a Dinosaur

Can you relate?

Alice Cunningham
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Christopher Stark on Unsplash

"I can't talk right now I'm on a long-distance call with my niece!" I un-intentionally shouted into my cell phone at the pleasant lady returning my call from the cable company.

"I'll call you back in just a minute." I promised as I quickly hung up and returned to the sound of muted laughter on the end of my home phone.

"What's so funny?" I cluelessly asked my Gen X niece.

"Uh, you know there's no such thing as "long-distance" phone calls anymore, right?"

Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

Crickets.

Pregnant pause.

Moment of clarity.

"Hehehe, oh yeah... I guess you're right." I said, smiling, feeling slightly embarrassed.

"OMG, I've morphed into Grandma!" I blurted out, remembering her habit of condensing two weeks' worth of gossip and family news into one minute of a "long-distance" phone call.

Grandma: "I can't talk long, honey, these calls are expensive, hurry and put your Mama on."

I figure it's come to this because of that.

--

--

Alice Cunningham
Crow’s Feet

Creative. Copywriter. Blooming blogger. Breathwork enthusiast. Bohemian soul. Creative collaboration inquiries: Alicecunningham00@gmail.com