REFLECTIONS

Our Last Fifteen Summers

As I count the passing seasons, I wonder how many I have left

Chris Thompson
Crow’s Feet
Published in
5 min readMay 6, 2024

--

“Don’t let the fear of the time it will take to accomplish something stand in the way of your doing it. The time will pass anyway; we might just as well put that passing time to the best possible use.”

— Earl Nightingale / Author

I met my wife twenty-nine years ago in Vancouver, Canada.

I recently returned to Vancouver and stayed downtown in a hotel. I sought a lunch place and came upon the restaurant where I had my first date with my wife, Jo, at the Yaletown Brewing Company. I had invited her to our big company event for the launch of a new video game. We had an extraordinarily fun time which culminated in our life together.

I sat at a table near a window, ordered, and enjoyed the people strolling by on the streets. As I enjoyed the sun coming through the window, I had an overwhelming sense of nostalgia and noticed the table where I had sat with Jo many years earlier at the party. I recalled us laughing and being affectionate. I was thirty and she was twenty-six. We were young. Time was of little consequence.

The waitress asked me where I was from and why I was in town. I shared that I had met my wife in the restaurant…

--

--

Chris Thompson
Crow’s Feet

Seeking common ground in a divided world. Education, parenting, family alcoholism, and life. Dad, husband. Be kind.