Overweight, Over 60, and Lazy but I’ve Found an Easy Way to Get in Shape.

It’s been three months and it’s been a breeze.

Glyn Bawden
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Zhang Kenny on Unsplash

When I was in my 20s all those years back, I ate, drank, did what I wanted, didn’t go to a gym and I was 12 stones (168 pounds) for 7 years. Nothing changed.

Once I hit my 40s and 50s, it all went to Hell in a handbasket. My weight made a brief stop at 15 and 15 1/2 stones (210–217 pounds), just to say hi, before coming to an alarming halt at 16 stones (224 pounds).

What I can’t get to grips with is the fact that this is the same size as a professional rugby player or a heavyweight boxer.

But believe me when I say, the similarity ends there. And try as I might, it will not shift.

I started going to the gym and that had the opposite effect. I put weight on.

I’m convincing myself that it’s muscle but my build is more on the “endomorphic” side which means I naturally carry a bit more fat, so I guess I’m never going to look ripped however hard I try.

Just after Christmas this year I saw an article about intermittent fasting. As I read, it appealed to my lazy nature. It’s not like going for walks or going to the gym. It’s the opposite. It’s simple.

--

--

Glyn Bawden
Crow’s Feet

An ex-teacher, aspiring writer. Trying to be healthy but still loving wine. Love to travel.