Parenting Tricks I’ve Learned

Some I never knew I would need….nor did I want to

Catherine Oceano
Crow’s Feet

--

Some will take different paths. Photo credit: Catherine Dunn-Gilbert, author

I’ve gotten good at sleuthing out criminal activity. Not a skill I ever thought I would need in my life. Certainly not one that I thought I would be driven to because of my adult children. The grandmother uncovers the underworld. Not quite.

I don’t mean driving around my neighbourhood looking for thugs. Or for the asshole who stole the catalytic converter from our car that was parked on the street.

But I’ve found a useful online site. It’s free and legal. It’s a place where a person can look up traffic or criminal code offences. Mostly, I am not sure how I even discovered the site that works for where I live. Maybe another mother like me suggested it.

It’s a local government website that contains info on a person's charges, appearances and, eventually, sentences. It’s proven helpful to myself and a couple of my friends who also know folks who interact with the judicial system regularly.

For a couple of years, I used the site to track one of my kids who was often out of touch (in more ways than one). Seeing that he had a court appearance in our town meant he would probably come by. Wander over afterwards unless he was being held in custody until the next date.

--

--

Catherine Oceano
Crow’s Feet

old but not dead, mother, partner, grandmother, writer, Canadian Become a Medium member and support great writers like me.