Retire Here on $2000 Monthly or Less #1

Mel Schlesinger
Crow’s Feet
Published in
6 min readJul 25, 2022

--

Shreveport, Louisiana

Canva Pro Royalty-Free

When I see a headline like Best 20 Places to Live on Only a Social Security Check, I must read it.

I love these best places to live articles. Due to one such piece, my wife and I found our home in Green Valley, Arizona. It was in an article on Forbes titled The Best Places to Retire in 2021.

Generally, these articles provide average rents and a livability score. In addition, some articles give some grocery costs, and one included healthcare costs, though I find that information misleading.

So, I wondered, could someone really live a decent life in one of these 20 places on $2000 or less monthly?

This is the first in a series of articles where I will dive deeper into many of these cities.

My Methodology

In addition to average rent, I wanted to know about costs for utilities, wireless internet, mobile phone, cable, groceries, and eating out. So for those costs, I went to https://numbeo.com.

I also wanted to know about low-cost things to do in each community. Let’s face it, and if you are on a $2000 monthly budget, you cannot be spending a lot of money on entertainment. But a life without enjoyment isn’t very much fun.

--

--

Mel Schlesinger
Crow’s Feet

Sort of retired. I am obsessed with happiness. As I write the last chapter of the story of my life, I want to share ideas on being happy.