Right and Left Socks?

John Douglas Hoge
Crow’s Feet
Published in
1 min readMay 6, 2022
Photo by the author.

I know that many things created by humans get more complex as they grow and evolve. But socks made specifically for the right or left foot? Really?

I know I’m out of touch with modern culture and the sophistication of mass-produced commodities such as men’s low-cut cotton and recycled polyester socks. I checked the “features” list and sure enough, one said “Left/Right Technology!” Really? That’s technology?

Surely the concept of left and right has many uses in giving directions, setting out a formal table place, or operating on someone’s appendages (“Left leg, please! It’s the one with the problem.”).

But back to left and right socks. Why on earth did someone think that was necessary? Will I be punished if I put on two lefts or get the left and right on the wrong foot? After washing, should I take care to pair a left sock with a right sock to reflect the manufacturer’s labeling?

According to several internet sources, it wasn’t until 1818 that a cobbler in Philadelphia made left and right shoes, and now most shoes are produced this way. I think we can be thankful for that step (sorry) forward.

I’m not so sure about left and right socks!

--

--

John Douglas Hoge
Crow’s Feet

Married now for just over 50 years, two successful sons with growing families, born in southern Indiana in 1947, I am retired social studies teacher/educator.