Old friends

The Rock Star From Asbury Park Who’s Not Springsteen

Crow’s Feet prompt # 58: Music

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readMay 22, 2024

--

Credit ArtNar on Pixabay

A few years ago I gave a presentation for Career Day sponsored by my grand’s middle school. The presentation was to be about my career as a financial planner. The kids seemed interested in what I had to say about the financial service business, until..

I mentioned I went to high school in Asbury Park New Jersey.

“ Bruce-y bar the door!”

My audience of 6th, 7th, and 8th graders forgot all about stocks, bonds, and mutual funds. The rest of the 45-minute presentation was devoted to talking about Bruce Springsteen.

I tried to tell the kids I was there long before Bruce but they continued to pepper me with questions about Springsteen — his songs, his concerts, his charisma, his wife. I patiently explained that although I was a fan, I didn’t have the answers to their never-ending stream of questions about the popular rock star.

My story

There was another talented musician with whom I yucked it up in high school. He was less well-known than “The Boss” but possibly had a more interesting career.

I remember him as a normally goofy kid in Asbury Park High School. He was a couple of years…

--

--

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Crow’s Feet

Very much involved with the world and likes nothing better than writing about its absurdities. Award winning author who guarantees a laugh or two a story.