Should You Add the Profound Experience of Human Relationships to Your Bucket List?

Jean Anne Feldeisen
Crow’s Feet
Published in
5 min readMar 13, 2022

--

Photo property of the author

Many people in their sixties and seventies are busy trying to fulfill lifetime dreams of travel or adventure—dropping out of airplanes, hang-gliding, hiking extreme mountain peaks, visiting far-off places. One of the expectations of experiences like this is to produce powerful feelings of awe and wonder in ourselves.

I remember this feeling when I saw the Grand Canyon for the first and only time. It was intense. I felt I couldn’t get enough of the vistas. I made a vow to myself to do whatever I had to do to come back here and hike down inside. Though I was out of shape and my knees were already arthritic, my reaction to the view was profound. I felt it was essential that I return, that I do something to make this place my own. I still have this feeling. It rises in my chest and throat whenever I think about my visit there. I will always love the Grand Canyon, whether I get back there or not. I am so grateful I saw it once.

The Power of Relationships

I read an interesting article by Glenn Geher, Ph.D. in the March/April 2022 issue of Psychology Today Magazine about peak experiences that produce awe and wonder. However, the author took a different tack and suggested that as we age, we would do well to consider the power of our…

--

--

Jean Anne Feldeisen
Crow’s Feet

I've got my fingers in way too many pots. Cook, writer, poet, reader, musician, therapist, dreamer, a transplant from New Jersey suburbs to a farm in Maine.