Six Things to Do Before Moving to a Lower Cost Area

The key to creating a better retirement on a shoestring

Mel Schlesinger
Crow’s Feet

--

Canva Pro Royalty-Free

This article was inspired by a comment from a reader on my last article, Can a Middle-Class American Retire on Social Security?

That article encouraged readers living on Social Security alone to relocate to a lower-cost-of-living area to make their income go further. But as the reader correctly pointed out, many of these lower cost areas are also rural.

Regardless of whether you move to a rural area or to a more metropolitan area, there are things that you should look for first.

From my own experience moving from Winston Salem, North Carolina, to Green Valley, Arizona, I know that there are some very important considerations that you might think of.

1: Healthcare

I have been surprised at the number of people I have met in Green Valley who never gave this much thought. Even though I investigated healthcare, I did not dig deep enough.

Here are a few healthcare-related subjects that are important to investigate.

Access to Doctors and Hospitals

I am not talking about having a supplement versus an Advantage Plan here. I am talking about access to primary care…

--

--

Mel Schlesinger
Crow’s Feet

Sort of retired. I am obsessed with happiness. As I write the last chapter of the story of my life, I want to share ideas on being happy.