Some People Seem Stuck On Their High School Years

I don’t get that at all

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

Do you remember high school? Did you go to the prom? Were you a cheerleader, or did you play football? Did you have a sweetheart back then? Or were you like me, sitting at home dreading having to go to school the next day?

The 1970s were the days when if you went to prom or a dance, you had to have a date. I did have one short-lived boyfriend back then, but nobody wanted to date the tall girl, even if I did drive a souped-up muscle car. I was glad to see graduation day arrive, and then I happily moved on with my life.

Now, 47 years later, a former cheerleader from my class is determined to bring us classmates back together every month. Not only does she plan these monthly shindigs, but she also keeps a memorial page for the members of our class who have passed on. The percentage of deaths in our class is high, and it makes me feel grateful to be alive.

Sadly, my cheerleader classmate’s monthly dinners have a low participation percentage. I admire her determination and dedication, but I can’t help but wonder about the low numbers. It must frustrate her.

One obvious answer for the lack of participation is that since we are a military town, a good portion of the 400-plus members of my graduation class were Air Force brats…

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor