Embracing Retirement-How to Maximize Enjoyment

Dan Pfeifer
Crow’s Feet
Published in
5 min readJul 29, 2021

--

Volume 1- My First Summer of Retirement Is Treating Me Well

For those of you who have recently retired, I hope you are enjoying it thus far and adjusting to your new adventure. For some it is hard to adjust to the new norm. Luckily I haven't had any difficulty adjusting and I wanted to share some tips to those that might be struggling. Of course, the pandemic may have thrown a monkey wrench into your plans and made the changes more difficult. Following are some tips and some photos from my summer thus far.

Summer 2021. Photos by the author.

This has been a crazy summer weather-wise here in the US and also abroad. From heat waves to tropical storms to droughts to floods to tornadoes and wildfires the list goes on. Here in my little part of the world (central New York state), we have received 11.1 inches of rain thus far in July, the wettest July I have ever witnessed with flooding occurring in some areas.. However, we have had some decent weather in between. Enough for plenty of fun activities.

--

--

Dan Pfeifer
Crow’s Feet

Stories on gardening, birding, outdoor adventure, retirement advice, and weather. Everything NY Mets! Join today at https://djpfeifer58.medium.com/member