A Stressful Road Trip To My Home Made My Parents Grumpy And Sad

How being together again, surrounded by normal daily life and love, melted that stress away

Laura Poirier
Crow’s Feet
3 min readOct 19, 2021

--

Photo by the author’s sister. Mom and Dad’s new routine is to go for a drive and look for new fishing spots.

The first thing my father said as he stepped out of his van was, “I am never coming here again!” I kept the smile on my face as I listened to him vent about the drive -- “you can’t see the signs until you pass them” -- while glancing at my mother, near tears because they had fought over the directions and missed turns. I kept nodding my head as I slowly led them away from the van so they could stretch their legs. It had been a long trip, after all, three and a half hours. A little fresh air was in order.

My dad is 82 years old, my mom is 79. They have been married for 60 years. My dad had a massive heart attack at work 19 months ago, just as news of a virus called “Covid-19” hit the airwaves. Although fully recovered, he could no longer work. Recently, they moved in with my sister and her family. They are not used to living with other people but are adjusting.

My mom was eager to visit and, since my husband was away, it seemed like the perfect time to have them over. Due to covid, it had been a year since we had last seen each other. And wouldn’t you know it, I woke up with laryngitis that very day. What the hell? How did that happen!?

My dad said, “Good, you talk too much!” and laughed.

After a tour of the grounds, we went inside and settled in. It felt so good to be with them again. My youngest son, 32, whom they used to babysit, took time off work to be with us and our two dogs greeted them with love and kisses.

Again, it just felt good, all warm and cozy, as if we were a family again: mom, dad, daughter, grandson, and not “grown daughter with aging parents.” We didn’t need to talk much or keep busy, just be together and relax. Ordinary moments. Nothing special. Except it was: it felt so special to me, like re-living an earlier time and place.

We walked the dogs, ate, watched tv, napped, and ate some more. In the evening, we all stretched out on the couches and watched a movie. My dad fell asleep. “Aurora,” our dog, took full advantage of the moment to give him big, wet kisses on the face, which made my mom and son quietly laugh themselves silly. If he only knew!

The day before they were to leave, I took them for “a drive.” What I wanted was to show them the way out of town so they could get back to my sister’s without any complications or tears. They are “old school” and don’t want to use a GPS. I knew that once my dad saw the route, he would remember it forever. And he did. And I knew he appreciated what I had done as I could sense him relaxing in the passenger seat.

They made it home safe and sound. And I miss them already.

I hope they come here again.

--

--