Crow’s Feet Writing Prompt #58

Supermarket Music

When did my music turn into oldies?

Robin James
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readMay 29, 2024

--

Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

I’ve never felt so old as the day I heard We’re Not Gonna Take It by Twisted Sister playing in the supermarket.

I stopped in the middle of the aisle, frozen with shock in the ice cream section, and concentrated on the music to confirm what I was hearing.

My ears didn’t deceive me. That song was actually playing.

I pushed on toward the bakery section while wondering when supermarkets changed their standards for music. They were supposed to be playing oldies, like The Beatles, or inoffensive muzak, not songs that caused controversy.

While I don’t remember much about why Twisted Sister caused a ruckus, I do recall that there was a segment of the population that was outraged about either the song or the band back in the day. I remember hand waving the concerns away as just the older generation not tolerating the newer generation’s music.

By the time I was done shopping, I came to the conclusion that the store must have put a more current selection of songs on instead of the tried-and-true folk and light pop music that normally played.

Until I heard Led Zepplin, Motley Crue, then Guns ‘n Roses.

--

--

Robin James
Crow’s Feet

When I’m not writing my novel I’m writing rants and whatnot. Figured I might as well post them here.