That Hurt. And it was Intentional.

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet
Published in
6 min readFeb 7, 2022

--

A very honest Medium writer shares her feelings about how society treated her as an older woman.

Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash

Diane Moore wrote me a comment almost a year ago, and I owe her an apology. I get swamped sometimes and, in doing so, I have all kinds of important comments for which I have permission to post for the rest of my readers, and sometimes they get lost in the fray. I found this one today and, finally, I want to air it.

Diane wrote me in response to this article, which irritated some and very much got others thinking (that’s my job):

Some took considerable umbrage. Others saw my point. Diane wrote me this very kind and revealing comment which, I think, speaks for more of us than may have spoken out about it at the time:

Thank you. This was encouraging. I wasn’t at all minding my age, almost 65, until Covid hit. Those first months of the pandemic, when the message seemed to be that “old people” should be willing to die for the younger generations to continue their “freedoms,” really hit me hard. “You’ve lived your life. So what if you have another good

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.