POEM

The Art of Healing

A poem about trauma and healing

Christina Sng
Crow’s Feet
Published in
2 min readAug 29, 2022

--

Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

I.

I learned many truths
After the life I knew ended.

After my father died,
After those I loved lied.

A small flame lit up
And unmasked the truth.

Inside the glimmer of lies,
Through the fog of night.

My life was an illusion,
Built to control and imprison.

II.

I learned that
Unconditional love

Should be real
And unflinching,

Once it exists, it is eternal,
Even after dying.

It’s a living flame
That burns forever,

Charging those who love
With new power.

III.

I also learned
That evil is real,

Disguised as love,
Disguised as a soul mate,

Packaged in a pretty box
With a ribbon on top.

--

--

Christina Sng
Crow’s Feet

Three-time Bram Stoker Award-winning author and Stoker nominated essayist. Vice President of the SFPA.