The Disturbing Truth About Fat Loss For Older People

And why those stubborn extra kilos are so hard to shift.

Glyn Bawden
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by i yunmai on Unsplash

I’m in my 60s and I could do with losing a few kilos, that’s no secret. (Note: A kilo is approximately 2.2 pounds.)

But it’s hard.

A few years ago after moving to a new area, I joined a training group in the hope of losing a few kilos and that didn’t go quite as expected.

By all accounts, going to the gym doesn’t help you lose weight. I’ve listened to podcasts and despite what we all like to believe, there is no direct correlation between going to the gym and losing weight.

Added to that, it turns out that research shows that when you pass the age of 35, you put on an average of 2 kilos per year, and for men the weight likes to settle around the middle.

Surely there’s something we can do about it?

I wish I was one of these people who just doesn't care about their weight.

But I'm not

Being overweight and wanting to do something about it is quite stressful.

And guess what?

It turns out that if you’re stressed, you produce cortisol and see if you can guess what cortisol does.

--

--

Glyn Bawden
Crow’s Feet

An ex-teacher, aspiring writer. Trying to be healthy but still loving wine. Love to travel.