The Grudge That Stole my Memory

And became a friend

Paul Gardner
Crow’s Feet
3 min readSep 24, 2022

--

Image from Wikimedia Commons

I need Donald Trump.

He gives me a reason to get up in the morning.

When my energy flags in the early afternoon, Donald is there for a boost.

He’s like a chocolate chip cookie.

But sugar is bad.

Grudges

Elizabeth Emerald is a healthy version of Mr. Trump.

Her little essays are often the first thing I see when I open my computer in the morning.

She’s like a carrot.

And carbohydrates are good.

Yesterday, Elizabeth wrote a piece on grudges. You can find it here.

Healthy food for thought.

Even better than a carrot, proving life is always better than a metaphor.

Elizabeth wrote: “I fear that I may need my grudge again someday.”

Her essay is an honest reflection on why she keeps grudges, thank you very much.

And made me feel uneasy.

Is that why I need Trump? Do I need a devil?

Elizabeth got me thinking and it didn’t stop with Donald.

It lead me back to Mike.

A high school reunion

Photo by Joshua Hoene, on Unsplash

Last week my partner, Rebecca, and I attended my 55-year high school reunion.

I have only good memories of this class of 1967 gathering, with one exception.

And that one dominates my reminiscence slideshow.

Mike was standing two feet from me; our backs were almost touching.

He’s still a big guy and, I had heard from another friend, handled court room opponents the way he took care of opposing running backs.

I think it was the winter of 1966, so we were high school juniors. There were five of us packed into Jerry’s car. We were returning from pick-up basketball at the YMCA.

Someone posed a question to which my response was something along the lines of I don’t have an opinion. Big Mike was riding shotgun. He turned around, without missing a beat, and said “Gardner, you never have an opinion about anything.”

Humiliation

The spat-out surname hurt my feelings.

But the quickness of his never-have-an-opinion retort humiliated me.

Mike was speaking truth to powerlessness.

In Life in the Last Quarter, I wrote about the challenges of being over 70. I suggested that every life quarter had tests, even the first.

In Do You Remember Your First Date?, I admitted to feeling overwhelmed on my first date.

Who would want to be 16 again?

Too unsure, too unformed, and too damned vulnerable.

A grudge as friend

At the reunion, I wanted to tell Mike about this incident and what it meant to me.

To thank him.

Because I’ve spent half a century proving him and other doubters wrong.

Of course, I didn’t.

Was it because I still need that grudge, just like I need Donald?

Elizabeth is right. Grudges are friends.

More carrot than cookie.

--

--

Paul Gardner
Crow’s Feet

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.