The Joy of Rucking

It’s Easy! It’s Fun! And Your Bones Will Thank You!

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by John Dancy on Unsplash

I always assumed that all the walking I do would protect me from getting osteoporosis. After all, walking is bone-protective, weight-bearing exercise, right?

Wrong!

As it turns out, as a result of all that walking, I’m too damn thin for walking to qualify as weight-bearing. (Ironic, huh?) At my current weight, walking does nothing whatsoever for my bones.

After my osteoporosis diagnosis, I tried increasing my weight-bearing load by using ankle weights, but they threw off my gait. And shlepping around hand weights takes a lot of the fun out of a stroll.

Then? I learned about Rucking:

Rucking (which definitely sounds as if it ought to be some kind of deviant sex act) just means walking with a loaded backpack. Writer Tim Ebl calls it “a simple, stealthy cardio that you can do anywhere.”

You don’t have to go to a gym or hire a personal trainer. Just put a bunch of heavy stuff in a backpack and walk around with it.

--

--

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
Crow’s Feet

Writing Coach and Editor Roz Warren (roSwarren@gmail.com) will help you improve and publish your work.