The Many Moods of Retirement

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readJul 29, 2021

--

How will I feel today?

Retirement is filled with a myriad of moods. Some days are good, others are a bit of a challenge. Here are a few I’ve endured. How about you?

Forever bloated-photo by Mary McGrath

No matter what I eat I always feel like this. It doesn’t matter if I cut down on my carbs, lower my salt intake, or eat prunes. Nothing seems to work.

I’m just not feeling very social-photo by Mary McGrath

Please don’t make me go to that party. It doesn’t start until 8 o’clock and by that time I am already in my pajamas. I don’t know any of those people anyway, and I can’t hear them either.

Oh look, I bought another pair of slippers! Photo by Mary McGrath

I’m so bored, I think I will go shopping today. My honey doesn’t listen to me, so I might as well self-medicate by buying a few things. And besides, Amazon accepts free returns!

Can’t wait to see my grandkids! Photo by Mary McGrath

I am in such a great mood because my grandchildren are coming over! We can play, sing, and do all those silly things that…

--

--

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

Top writer in humor, short stories, writing, advice and poetry. She’s written for Newsweek, Wall St. Journal, Good Housekeeping, and Chicken Soup for the Soul.