The Most Underappreciated Cause of Death and Disability in the Elderly

David Mokotoff, MD
Crow’s Feet
Published in
2 min readAug 31, 2022

--

My recent injuries provide a cautionary tale for every senior citizen.

Courtesy of gettyimages.com

I never thought it would happen to me. I prided myself on keeping balanced after years of practicing Tai Chi. However, on March 28, 2022, I fell while getting onto my boat and, as a result, cracked a rib and tore two of my right rotator cuff tendons. The cause was my inattention to proper footwear. I was wearing a pair of “boat sandals” that I knew to be slippery. I should have thrown them out long ago. The ribs healed, and I had a right rotator cuff repair last week. I won’t be able to fish for six months. Writing this today is challenging. I also sold the boat.

When we think about deaths in the elderly, falls don’t usually come to mind. However, falls among adults aged 65 and older are common, costly, and preventable. Falls are the leading cause of fatal and nonfatal injuries among older adults. Falls are preventable and proactive measures do help. My lack of attention to proper footwear is a case in point.

Here are other steps you can take to avoid becoming a statistic:

  1. Practice yoga or Tai Chi. Data suggests it helps in fall prevention.
  2. Stay physically active.
  3. Have your eyes and hearing tested regularly.

--

--

David Mokotoff, MD
Crow’s Feet

David Mokotoff is a top and boosted writer. He is a retired MD, passionate about health, medicine, gardening, and food, https://tinyurl.com/y7bjoqkd