The Readers Who Inspire Me

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readOct 1, 2021

--

Photo by Boxed Water Is Better on Unsplash

And I hope they do the same for you

One reason I’ve not been able to sever my relationship with Medium is Dear Reader. While the constant contractions and machinations around payment are enough to drive any one of us to fling ourselves over the cliff in frustration, one thing is certain: the intimate relationship with Dear Reader is simply unmatched.

I love, love, love to share the stories from those readers who are kind enough to provide them to me, for these people are a good part of why I write. Not just that, but there are plenty of times I am down or frustrated or whatever, and the reminders that we are not alone, and that others are trying their best as well, are what buoy me when I bloody well would rather watch a damned movie than head downstairs to the elliptical.

As I unpack my luggage from a long return trip to Africa and eyeball the fast-growing and completely overwhelming To-Do list, I am reminded by this most recent of comments that the first and foremost thing To Do, is To Do for this aging body.

To that this is what I got and can use with permission from Susan J:

At 57, I always tell people, “a body in motion stays in motion.” It’s my mantra. I often don’t feel like working out in the morning but I do it anyway — every single day. Yoga x at least 3 per week

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/