CROW’S FEET WRITING PROMPT #58: MUSIC

The Times They Are (Not) a-Changin’

I just can’t shake loose from my connection to Sixties music

Barry Silverstein
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readMay 28, 2024

--

Photo by Sebastian Ervi on Unsplash

As an early-wave baby boomer, I was smack dab in the middle of the rise of rock ’n’ roll. In my adolescence, it was cool to be a “teenybopper” (remember that term?) who listened to simple bubblegum songs about things like unrequited love.

But the genre matured, as did I. My taste eventually changed and I went from buying 45s to LPs. Now I smile, chagrined to see vinyl records making a comeback. I could kick myself for getting rid of all those albums years ago.

My musical awakening came during the mid-to-late Sixties. The music that flooded radio stations in waves pretty much mapped to where I was mentally and emotionally at the time. In high school, I briefly played drums in a rock band. I worked for a commercial radio station part-time on weekends and got to see the inner workings of that side of the music business. In college, I spun discs for the university radio station as an amateur DJ.

Folk-rock and rock music became the soundtrack of my youth. I was struck by Bob Dylan’s complex lyrics and the brilliant compositions and harmonies of Simon and Garfunkel. I embraced the distinctive Motown sound. I glided from folk…

--

--

Barry Silverstein
Crow’s Feet

Author, blogger and retired marketing pro. I like to write about brands, products and people of the past. Please visit my website: www.barrysilverstein.com