The Weirdest 80th Birthday Toast Response Ever

Not that I’ve been to many octogenarian parties

Jennifer McDougall
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by RODNAE Productions from Pexels

Let’s just start this by stating that my husband and his now-92-year-old great aunt have a very bizarre relationship. Now to her 80th birthday party.

The Birthday Party

The church basement was filled with balloons and laughter. Cousin’s kids whose names I can never remember played tag amongst the skirt bottoms of friends and family. A cake, impeccably crafted by my sister-in-law into a replica of her great aunt’s favorite teapot, sat waiting to be sliced. Several toasts had been made and it was time for the 80-year-old birthday girl to respond.

“Well,” she started, and we waited for thank yous or other blushing-faced sentiments. Personally, being a bit geeky with history stuff, I was crossing my fingers that she’d touch on all that had been invented during her eight decades on the planet.

Instead, her words silenced the room into an embarrassed stillness. Cousins glared at one another and rolled their eyes back past their ears. A few coughs were stifled, covering the awkward snickers.

The background

“Why does Auntie do your laundry and clean your room?” I asked my then-boyfriend, as we hid out in his bedroom…

--

--

Jennifer McDougall
Crow’s Feet

Attempting Serious and Satire... Sometimes successful. Editor, Doctor Funny.