There’s Nothing Like Waking up to the Sound of a Cat Throwing up

It’s even worse when you feel something wet and slimy on your feet

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

--

Crow’s Feet prompt: pets

Tiger pic by Nicole

I heard “that” sound. One of the cats was gearing up to puke. The next thing I knew, I felt something wet and slimy land on my bare feet. Sadly, this morning was not the first time I had a surprise present from one of my cats. I have five, and they range in age from middle age to old, older, and oldest. There is a lot of throwing up around here. I just wish they would choose a place other than my bed or new chair to do it.

My cat population is joined by four dogs. Unfortunately, we’ve had a couple of our babies pass on in the last year. It was a painful enough experience to make me dread what is coming for the rest of my babies.

There is no telling how many pets I have had in my 63 years. It all started with the family pets when I was a small child. We had a dog named Trixie. She was part German Shepard/Collie.

One of our family stories involves Trixie and me. When I was a baby, I crawled down the street and almost reached the busy road leading to our local Air Force Base. Now, the distance I traveled would have been at least seven or eight houses away from where I lived. Even now, I…

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor