Things Have Things Changed Since I Was Young(er)

Some of it is good, and some things are not so good

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Aly Ko on Unsplash

Like many people, I got paid today because it’s the first of the month. So I sat down at my computer and opened my bank website. Within minutes, I had transferred money to my bill-paying account and designated where it should go using my bank’s bill-paying system.

I felt both relieved and sad.

After just fifteen minutes, I had designated where all my money should go, and there was little to none left in the account.

I couldn’t help but reflect on not so long ago days when I’d spend the evening opening bills, organizing them in stacks, and writing out checks. Then, I’d finish the evening by writing everything in my check register and reconciling my balance.

I haven’t reconciled a bank statement in years, nor do I use a check register.

I don’t miss it. Whenever I made a mistake, I’d have to go to the bank and ask them to print out my statement early. Now I don’t even get statements in the mail. I just look at my account online every day.

Can you believe young people today don’t even know how to write a check? My, my have things changed.

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor