Things Nobody Told Me About Getting Older

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readJul 29, 2021

--

Like why I Was The Oldest Person At the Women’s Health Center

Photo by Amy Bonthorne on Unsplash

There’s only one alternative to getting older, as the saying goes! That is certainly a true statement.

Now that I’m in my sixties, I find new changes in my life every day. I’m trying to think positively about what is happening, but it isn’t easy sometimes.

For instance, I have my father’s hair. It’s curly and frizzy and gray! Unfortunately, people in his family gray early. I can remember him getting his hair dyed when I was a little girl. Now it’s my turn! I’ve been dying it since I was in my forties. If my father were living, he would find it funny to see that it is blue!

I was shocked when I realized that my long-time friend had a hump on her back. It’s called a Dowager’s Hump. It happens to older people and can be caused by bad posture and other causes like osteoporosis or congenital issues. I politely didn’t mention it to her, but she sure gave me heck about my blue hair.

Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

I couldn’t help but notice that one of my sisters had gotten shorter. When I compared our pictures from when we were in our twenties to one from the present time, she had…

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor