Things You Shouldn’t Say to a Senior

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet
Published in
2 min readAug 3, 2021

--

Some of these questions are so insulting!

I get so pissed at times! Photo by Mary McGrath

It’s funny how you disappear as you get older. I remember the days when I used to turn heads, and sometimes those advances were welcomed, and sometimes they weren’t.

I still turn heads from time to time but I think it’s mainly when people want to make sure that I will not plow into them in the parking lot or when I’m getting ready to make a lane change.

But as I’ve aged, I also notice that there are certain things that you shouldn’t say to a senior. They’re just insulting. Here are some things I’ve heard.

Speaking Louder:
Sometimes I notice that the clerks at the store speak louder to me than they do to younger customers. I guess they assume I have a hearing loss. That may well be, but you shouldn’t assume that a customer is partially deaf.

I can’t hear you! Photo by Mary McGrath

Grocery Help:
Can I help you out with your groceries? This hasn’t happened in a while because Aldi and Walmart require you to bag your own stuff. But it used to happen fairly regularly in Los Angeles.

--

--

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

Top writer in humor, short stories, writing, advice and poetry. She’s written for Newsweek, Wall St. Journal, Good Housekeeping, and Chicken Soup for the Soul.